Skip to content
VerifiedLast verified 2026-09-18

University of Minnesota Medical School

University of Minnesota Medical School is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. It is a public institution awarding the MD degree. Values below are shown only where a published source exists.

How to read these figures

Each figure below carries the school's own published source, the reporting year it refers to, and the date we last checked it. Fields the school does not publish are shown as "Not publicly reported". Always confirm current figures with the school before deciding.

School overview

School overview
FieldValueClassification
LocationMinneapolis, MinnesotaOfficial school source
OwnershipPublicOfficial school source
Degree awardedMDRegulator verified
RegionMidwestMBBSinAmerica derived
Websitehttps://med.umn.edu/Official school source

Accreditation

Listed by the LCME as an accredited MD program.

Source: Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) directory. Checked 2026-09-18. Accreditation status can change between reviews; confirm the current listing before relying on it.

International-applicant eligibility

International applicant policy
FieldValue
International applicationsNot publicly reported
Canadian applicationsNot publicly reported
Foreign degree policyPolicy on coursework completed outside the United States or Canada is not recorded here. Verify directly with the admissions office.
US coursework requirementMany US MD programs expect some prerequisite coursework completed at a US or Canadian institution. This record does not assert a requirement for this school.

Admission requirements

Prerequisite coursework, recommendation formats and experience expectations are set by the school and can change between cycles. This record does not restate them until each item is captured with a source URL and verification date.

See the US medical school admission guide for the process that applies across schools.

MCAT and GPA profile

Admissions profile
StatisticValueReporting year
Median MCATNot publicly reported
Median GPANot publicly reported
Class size239Medical School class statistics2025

Published medians describe an entering class. They are not cut-offs and do not predict an individual outcome.

Tuition and cost of attendance

Cost fields
FieldAmountReporting year
Tuition (in-state)$31,190Costs and budgeting (two semesters at the published resident rate)Annual figure calculated from the school's published per-term rate.2026
Tuition (out-of-state)$47,678Costs and budgeting (two semesters at the published non-resident rate)Annual figure calculated from the school's published per-term rate.2026
Tuition (international)Not publicly reported
Estimated cost of attendanceNot publicly reported

Costs change each academic year. Read them alongside the full pathway cost guide.

Curriculum and clinical education

Curriculum fields
FieldValue
Curriculum modelNot recorded
MD/PhD availableYes
Research emphasisNot publicly reported
Primary-care emphasisStated by the school
Clinical education sitesNot publicly reported

USMLE and Match outcomes

Outcome data availability
ItemAvailability
Published USMLE dataNot located
Published Match listSchool publishes a Match list
Specialty placement distributionNot publicly reported
Competitive-specialty placementsRecorded only with specialty, count, cohort size and reporting years

No school guarantees entry to any specialty. Read Match information with the residency Match guide.

Research, aid and student support

Financial aid eligibility for international students, escrow requirements and support services differ by school and are not recorded in this demonstration record. Check the school's financial aid and international student pages directly.

Important considerations

  • Admission is competitive and is never guaranteed by meeting published requirements.
  • International-applicant policies change between cycles; verify before applying.
  • Federal student loans are generally unavailable to international students.
  • Residency placement is a separate process that follows graduation.

Sources and verification

Verification status: verified. Last verified 2026-09-18.

  1. 1.Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) directoryLCME
  2. 2.University of Minnesota Medical School official websiteUniversity of Minnesota Medical School
  3. 3.Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR)Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Suggest a correction

Tell us which figure is wrong and link a primary source. Corrections are logged with a date.