Skip to content
VerifiedLast verified 2026-09-18

Stanford University School of Medicine

Stanford University School of Medicine is located in Stanford, California. It is a private institution awarding the MD degree. Values below are shown only where a published source exists.

How to read these figures

Each figure below carries the school's own published source, the reporting year it refers to, and the date we last checked it. Fields the school does not publish are shown as "Not publicly reported". Always confirm current figures with the school before deciding.

School overview

School overview
FieldValueClassification
LocationStanford, CaliforniaOfficial school source
OwnershipPrivateOfficial school source
Degree awardedMDRegulator verified
RegionWestMBBSinAmerica derived
Websitehttps://med.stanford.edu/Official school source

Accreditation

Listed by the LCME as an accredited MD program.

Source: Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) directory. Checked 2026-09-18. Accreditation status can change between reviews; confirm the current listing before relying on it.

International-applicant eligibility

International applicant policy
FieldValue
International applicationsConsiders international applicants (limited)
Canadian applicationsNot publicly reported
Foreign degree policyPolicy on coursework completed outside the United States or Canada is not recorded here. Verify directly with the admissions office.
US coursework requirementMany US MD programs expect some prerequisite coursework completed at a US or Canadian institution. This record does not assert a requirement for this school.

Admission requirements

Prerequisite coursework, recommendation formats and experience expectations are set by the school and can change between cycles. This record does not restate them until each item is captured with a source URL and verification date.

See the US medical school admission guide for the process that applies across schools.

MCAT and GPA profile

Admissions profile
StatisticValueReporting year
Median MCAT518School of Medicine Performance Metrics2024
Median GPA3.94School of Medicine Performance Metrics2024
Class size90School of Medicine Performance Metrics2024

Published medians describe an entering class. They are not cut-offs and do not predict an individual outcome.

Tuition and cost of attendance

Cost fields
FieldAmountReporting year
Tuition (in-state)$92,884MD Program Student Handbook, Tuition and Fees (four quarters at the published quarterly rate)Annual figure calculated from the school's published per-term rate.2025
Tuition (out-of-state)Not publicly reported
Tuition (international)Not publicly reported
Estimated cost of attendanceNot publicly reported

Costs change each academic year. Read them alongside the full pathway cost guide.

Curriculum and clinical education

Curriculum fields
FieldValue
Curriculum modelNot recorded
MD/PhD availableYes
Research emphasisStated by the school
Primary-care emphasisNot publicly reported
Clinical education sitesNot publicly reported

USMLE and Match outcomes

Outcome data availability
ItemAvailability
Published USMLE dataNot located
Published Match listSchool publishes a Match list
Specialty placement distributionNot publicly reported
Competitive-specialty placementsRecorded only with specialty, count, cohort size and reporting years

No school guarantees entry to any specialty. Read Match information with the residency Match guide.

Research, aid and student support

Financial aid eligibility for international students, escrow requirements and support services differ by school and are not recorded in this demonstration record. Check the school's financial aid and international student pages directly.

Important considerations

  • Admission is competitive and is never guaranteed by meeting published requirements.
  • International-applicant policies change between cycles; verify before applying.
  • Federal student loans are generally unavailable to international students.
  • Residency placement is a separate process that follows graduation.

Sources and verification

Verification status: verified. Last verified 2026-09-18.

  1. 1.Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) directoryLCME
  2. 2.Stanford University School of Medicine official websiteStanford University School of Medicine
  3. 3.Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR)Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Suggest a correction

Tell us which figure is wrong and link a primary source. Corrections are logged with a date.