Skip to content
Verification pendingLast verified 2026-09-01

Howard University College of Medicine

Howard University College of Medicine is located in Washington, District of Columbia. It is a private institution awarding the MD degree. Values below are shown only where a published source exists.

Figures not yet verified

Admissions, cost and outcome figures for this school have not been fabricated; they remain unreported until a primary source, reporting year and verification date are attached.

School overview

School overview
FieldValueClassification
LocationWashington, District of ColumbiaOfficial school source
OwnershipPrivateOfficial school source
Degree awardedMDRegulator verified
RegionSouthMBBSinAmerica derived
Websitehttps://medicine.howard.edu/Official school source

Accreditation

Listed by the LCME as an accredited MD program.

Source: Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) directory. Checked 2026-09-01. Accreditation status can change between reviews; confirm the current listing before relying on it.

International-applicant eligibility

International applicant policy
FieldValue
International applicationsNot publicly reported
Canadian applicationsNot publicly reported
Foreign degree policyPolicy on coursework completed outside the United States or Canada is not recorded here. Verify directly with the admissions office.
US coursework requirementMany US MD programs expect some prerequisite coursework completed at a US or Canadian institution. This record does not assert a requirement for this school.

Admission requirements

Prerequisite coursework, recommendation formats and experience expectations are set by the school and can change between cycles. This record does not restate them until each item is captured with a source URL and verification date.

See the US medical school admission guide for the process that applies across schools.

MCAT and GPA profile

Admissions profile
StatisticValueReporting year
Median MCATNot publicly reported
Median GPANot publicly reported
Class sizeNot publicly reported

Published medians describe an entering class. They are not cut-offs and do not predict an individual outcome.

Tuition and cost of attendance

Cost fields
FieldAmountReporting year
Tuition (in-state)Not publicly reported
Tuition (out-of-state)Not publicly reported
Tuition (international)Not publicly reported
Estimated cost of attendanceNot publicly reported

Costs change each academic year. Read them alongside the full pathway cost guide.

Curriculum and clinical education

Curriculum fields
FieldValue
Curriculum modelNot recorded
MD/PhD availableNot publicly reported
Research emphasisNot publicly reported
Primary-care emphasisStated by the school
Clinical education sitesNot publicly reported

USMLE and Match outcomes

Outcome data availability
ItemAvailability
Published USMLE dataNot located
Published Match listNot located
Specialty placement distributionNot publicly reported
Competitive-specialty placementsRecorded only with specialty, count, cohort size and reporting years

No school guarantees entry to any specialty. Read Match information with the residency Match guide.

Research, aid and student support

Financial aid eligibility for international students, escrow requirements and support services differ by school and are not recorded in this demonstration record. Check the school's financial aid and international student pages directly.

Important considerations

  • Admission is competitive and is never guaranteed by meeting published requirements.
  • International-applicant policies change between cycles; verify before applying.
  • Federal student loans are generally unavailable to international students.
  • Residency placement is a separate process that follows graduation.

Sources and verification

Verification status: verification pending. Last verified 2026-09-01.

  1. 1.Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) directoryLCME
  2. 2.Howard University College of Medicine official websiteHoward University College of Medicine
  3. 3.Medical School Admission Requirements (MSAR)Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Suggest a correction

Tell us which figure is wrong and link a primary source. Corrections are logged with a date.